FM-MVCTC FFA holds annual banquet

PITSBURG – The Franklin Monroe FFA Chapter celebrated its many accomplishments, both as a chapter and by its individual members, during the Annual Parent Member FFA Banquet held on March 20th 2018. Approximately 200 members, parents, and guests attended the evening held at Franklin Monroe High School.

Special guest speakers for the banquet were Principal P.J. Burgett, and John Williams, Franklin Monroe FFA Vice president of the Boosters.

Many members received special awards. Walker Lindemuth and Jacob Winterrowd received the Star Greenhand. Elisabeth Williams received the Star in Ag Placement. Morgan Hissong received Star Chapter Farmer. Wyatt King and Logan Ressler received their American Degrees, Morgan Hissong and Elisabeth Williams received their State Degrees. The local chapter awarded honorary membership. The Honorary Chapter Degree was presented to Mr. John Williams.

The other awards and recognition presented throughout the evening included Top Citrus Sellers to Elisabeth Williams with $2,900, Morgan Hissong with $1,800, Taylor Armstrong with $1,600 and Clem Montgomery with $1,100. Other Fruit Sales Award winners with sales of $300 of citrus were Morgan Baker, Wyatt Baker, Austin Cool, Kim Fourman, Marcus Glass, Walker Lindemuth, Ally Warner, Jacob Winterrowd and Matthew Williams. The FFA reached a total of $17,000 in fruit sales.

Judging contest recognition certificates were given to the following teams: Rural Soils Team, Agricultural and Industrial Diagnostics Judging Team, Parliamentary Procedure Chapter Team, Parliamentary Greenhand Team, Job Interview, Public Speaking, General Livestock, Equine, Poultry, and Agronomy Team.

They have had several chapter accomplishments this past year. They sponsored a blood drive at Franklin Monroe High School collecting over 40 pints of blood, had a few students participate in the Adopt a Highway project, donated over 100 pounds of food to a local food pantry in Greenville, and had about eight FFA members assist with the Minster Oktoberfest. There are plans for several more community service projects in the coming months.

The 2017 Franklin Monroe  FFA Officers are Elisabeth Williams, President; Keara Knepshield, Vice President; Morgan Hissong, Secretary; Taylor Armstrong, Treasurer; Makayla Knipp, Reporter; Jake Armstrong, Sentinel; Walker Lindemuth, Student Advisor; and Advisor Kevin Bergman. The 2018 officers were also installed in their positions and they are Morgan Hissong, President; Elisabeth Williams, Vice President; Jacob Winterrowd, Secretary; Walker Lindemuth, Treasurer; Makayla Knipp, Reporter; Clem Montgomery, Sentinel; Garrison Warner, Student Advisor; and Kevin Bergman, Advisor.

The Franklin Monroe FFA Boosters had another successful year with fundraising activities for the FFA Chapter.  These activities included the Consignment Auction in August, the Hog Raffle in February, and the Silent Auction and Pie Auction at the banquet. They would like to thank all of the community members who helped with these events or donated items.

The Franklin Monroe-MVCTC FFA chapter thanks both the Miami Valley CTC and the Franklin Monroe Board of Education for working in partnership to make the chapter successful.  They also thank parents, members, and the many other community members who have helped out over the past year.

PHOTO CAPTION: Star Greenhand: Jacob Winterrowd and Walker Lindemuth; State Degree Recipients: Elisabeth Williams and Morgan Hissong; American Degree Recipients: Logan Ressler and Wyatt King.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email