FM Lady Jets tournament winners over Arcanum

ARCANUM – The Franklin Monroe Lady Jets defeated Arcanum 54-39 in the Third Annual Roy Hutchinson Memorial Tournament hosted by the Arcanum Lady Trojans.

“We always know that it is going to be a battle when we play Arcanum, and Saturday proved that right,” said Franklin Monroe coach Abbey Moore. “I am extremely happy with the effort that this group gives on the court and proud of what they were able to accomplish this past weekend.”

The Lady Jets took the opening period by a 12-8 score with all 12-points coming by way of three-pointers. Belle Cable scored 9-points draining three treys for the Lady Jets and Corina Conley hit a three. Kayla O’Daniel paced the Lady Trojans with 6-first quarter points.

The Franklin Monroe girls extended their lead to 30-19 at the break with Conley dropping in 4-buckets to lead the Lady Jets with 8-points in the period. Taylor Gray led Arcanum with 5-points in the second.

The Lady Trojans battle back in the third period outscoring Franklin Monroe 13-5 to make it a 35-32 Lady Jets lead with one period to play.

O’Daniel led Arcanum with 6-third quarter points while Conley was accounting for all 5-Lady Jets points including a three-pointer.

The Lady Jets rebounded in the fourth period outscoring Arcanum by double digits, 19-7 to earn the tournament win by a 15-point margin. Conley led the fourth for FM with 8-points including 4-4 at the free throw line.

“Fortunately after an uncharacteristic third quarter we were able to make some adjustments and finish strong in the fourth quarter,” Coach Moore said. “We must learn from our mistakes moving forward and be able to put all four quarters together to be able to compete at the level that we know we are capable of.”

Conley led Franklin Monroe and all scorers with 24-points. O’Daniel led the Lady Trojans with 15-points.



FRANKLIN MONROE – E. Conley 24, B. Cable 12, C. Brumbaugh 9, C. McGlinch 7, S. Bauman 2 – TOTALS 10 7-9 9 54

ARCANUM – K. O’Daniel 15, M. Fearon 9, T. Gray 8, H. Unger 6, E. Siculan 1 – TOTALS 12 9-14 2 39


Franklin Monroe 9 (B. Cable 4, C. Brumbaugh 3, C. Conley 2)

Arcanum 2 (K. O’Daniel 1, M. Fearon 1)


12-18-05-19 54 Franklin Monroe

08-11-13-07 39 Arcanum

PHOTO CAPTION: The 2019-2020 Roy Hutchinson Memorial Tournament Champion Franklin Monroe Lady Jets. (Courtesy Photo)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email